Call for Best BPM Dissertation Award

3The Steering Committee of the International Conference on Business Process Management is happy to announce the Best BPM Dissertation Award 2022.


Eligible as candidates are all dissertations that have been officially completed after 01 January 2021. We invite theses from a broad spectrum of topics that relate to BPM. These topics include, but are not limited to:

  • BPM and strategy
  • BPM and innovation
  • BPM and governance
  • BPM methods
  • Process mining
  • Process modelling and analysis
  • BPM and decision management
  • BPM enactment architectures and process execution
  • BPM techniques and algorithms
  • BPM and organizational culture
  • BPM and various stakeholders
  • BPM and organizational routines
  • BPM and IT implementation
  • BPM and process-aware information systems
  • BPM and new types of coordination and collaboration
  • BPM and new technologies

We explicitly embrace any type of research no matter which research methods have been used. This means that dissertations that have been conducted using formal methods, empirical methods or design methods are equally welcome.


The winner will receive the award at the BPM Conference 2022 in Münster, Germany. The award is connected with a prize of €1,000 and a free registration for the conference. The winner is also offered the option to publish the dissertation thesis in Springer’s LNBIP series.

Nomination and Submission

Candidates are nominated by their primary supervisor using a nomination letter. Each professor is only allowed to nominate one candidate. The candidate is responsible for submitting the nomination material via Easychair (choose new submission and select “BPM Dissertation Award” as Track) including the following documents as a single PDF file:

  1. 5-pages extended abstract (in CEUR format) of the thesis with the title ”(Extended Abstract)”
  2. Nomination letter by supervisor (not longer than 2 pages)
  3. PhD evaluation report including the reviews of the dissertation
  4. CV of the candidate including publication list
  5. Full document of the dissertation. 

We plan to publish all extended abstracts that are relevant to this call as a volume of CEUR online proceedings.

Selection Process

The winner of the award will be determined in two steps. First, a review committee will evaluate the submission material and identify a short list of three candidates. Second, these three candidates will be invited to give a presentation of their work in an online session with the review jury. The jury will then select the winner. The selection process will be directed by the following criteria:

  • Originality and depth of contribution,
  • Methodological soundness,
  • Form and quality of presentation, and
  • Significance for the research field.

Important Dates

  • 31 May 2022: Deadline for submission of thesis
  • 7 June 2022: Notification whether thesis is short listed
  • 27 June 2022: (tentative): Online session with short-listed candidates
  • The Announcement of the winner will be at the BPM Conference in Münster, Germany

Review Jury

  • Wil van der Aalst, RWTH Aachen, Germany
  • Akhil Kumar, Pennsylvania State University, United States
  • Jan Mendling (Chair), WU Vienna, Austria
  • Brian Pentland, Michigan State University, United States
  • Mathias Weske, HPI University of Potsdam, Germany

Review Committee

  • Boualem Bentallah, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Nicholas Berente, University of Georgia, United States
  • Jörg Desel, FernUni Hagen, Germany
  • Boudewijn van Dongen, TU Eindhoven, The Netherlands
  • Henrik Leopold, Kühne Logistics University, Germany
  • Marco Montali, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
  • Jan Recker, Uni Hamburg, Germany
  • Manfred Reichert, Uni Ulm, Germany
  • Hajo Reijers, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
  • Stefanie Rinderle-Ma, TU Munich, Germany
  • Maximilian Röglinger, University of Bayreuth, Germany
  • Michael Rosemann, QUT Brisbane, Australia
  • Shazia Sadiq, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Ingo Weber, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany